ASB Election Results Energize School

Sophia Bollag

On Friday April 16, the new ASB officers were announced. Next year, Liza Katz will be ASB President, Jonathan Wong will be Vice President, Brittany Anderson will be Secretary, and Will Lavis will be Treasurer. Each officer is a senior.

“We’re going to make the school as spirited as possible and make the year more enjoyable,” said Katz.

As ASB President, Katz said she will “basically oversee the whole leadership class [and] work side by side with Ms. Peterson.”

Next year will be Katz’s third year in leadership. Previously, she was the sophomore class Secretary and this year she is the junior class President.

Wong said his duties as ASB Vice President will include “setting up the elections, arranging the assemblies, and also helping appoint positions.”

As Vice President, Wong said he plans to create more publicity for the ASB elections next year, which he will be in charge of.

“We had 400 people [vote this year], which is not a bad turnout, but we really want to get more people so that it really is the opinion of the [whole] school,” he said.

Although Wong has never been in the leadership class before, he still has experience in leadership positions.

“I’ve been an officer in Latin club for two years and I’ve also been the acting captain for the Academic Decathlon team,” he said.

As ASB Secretary, Anderson will “keep in contact with the [leadership] class and keep everybody updated on what’s going on.” She will also be in charge of taking notes at meetings.

As she is currently the junior class Vice President, next year will be Anderson’s second year in leadership.

“I’ll be working with the other ASB officer to help get people involved in school activities,” she said.

“I have the ambition to be a good ASB Treasurer and accomplish a lot of goals for our school,” said Lavis, who is this year’s junior Vice President. As Treasurer, Lavis will oversee the leadership class budget.

Katz ran against Claire Nicolaou for President, and Wong ran against Raj Bains and Kirby Schultz for Vice President. Anderson and Lavis both ran unopposed for their positions. Elections were held Thursday, April 15 and Friday, April 16.

The voting window for class officers began yesterday at 8:00 a.m., and will continue through 8:00 p.m. tonight, Friday, April 23.

Caitlin Nelson runs unopposed for Senior President, while Chris Thatcher runs unopposed for Senior Vice President. Isabelle Shapiro and Annie Singsank are candidates for Senior Secretary, and Sarah Abel and Joseph Sweiss are running for Senior Treasurer.

For Junior class officers, Scotty Huhn is running for President, Sarah Brovelli for Vice President, Tanya Salmeron for Secretary, and Bonnie Bierbaum for Treasurer.

Sophomore class officer candidates include Maddy Bush for President, Connor Casey for Vice President, and Kendall Kovalik for Treasurer.